MTV Movie Awards

Award shows are my thing. MTV is my thing. I was in heaven Sunday, April 13. Movie of the Year: The Hunger Games: Catching Fire To be honest, I found this shocking, but not. This is a fan voted award show and I was going to say the majority of voters probably haven’t seen 12 Years a Slave, The Wolf of Wall Street or American Hustle, but you know they have! Maybe there were a lot of tweens voting and their loyalty lays too deeply with Katniss and Peeta. Best Fight: Orlando Bloom & Evangeline Lilly vs. Orcs Coolio. Favorite Character: Tris (!!!!!!) This award was presented after the Paul Walker tribute (tear ]’:) and was the rushed announcement that isn’t even made on the main stage. Shailene Woodley at the 2014 MTV Movie Awards. I feel like no one in the audience even realized Shailene Woodley was receiving the award. You would think because the vote was neck and neck Katniss to Tris (each had nearly 7 million while the other nominees lingered under 1 million), the majority of the journey they would seriously acknowledge this award. As a fan and voter I felt like her win was overlooked. Also, her outfit was incredible. When she was onscreen, it looked phenomenal, it just did not photograph well. People are saying it doesn’t look like “her” and I’m over here like: Her would be leggings and a tank top, but whatever. Best Female Performance: Jennifer Lawrence, The Hunger Games: Catching Fire
Shocker.

Best Male Performance: Josh Hutcherson, The Hunger Games: Catching Fire
Shocker.

Best Kiss: Emma Roberts, Jennifer Aniston and Will Poulter, We’re the Millers
This was actually shocking to me, because I thought JLaw and Amy Adams were FTW.

Best Shirtless Performance: Zac Efron, That Awkward Moment 2014 MTV Movie Awards - Backstage & AudienceGifs via MTV

Best Villain: Mila Kunis, as Theodora, Wicked Witch of the West, Oz The Great and Powerful
I loved that during her acceptance speech she pointed out that she was the only female nominated for the category and won. Girl power!

Best Comedic Performance: Jonah Hill, The Wolf of Wall Street
I’d say well deserved.

Best On-Screen Transformation: Jared Leto: Dallas Buyers Club
This award started the show off, and Leto’s acceptance speech was very serious and caring. Every once in a while (or maybe at least once every show) an actor/actress gets serious and I love that Leto took the opportunity to speak to people across the globe about a problem we often ignore.

Breakthrough Performance: Will Poulter, We’re the Millers
When I think of him, all I think is a certain scene. Gross.

Best On-Screen Duo: Vin Diesel & Paul Walker, Fast & Furious 6
Crying.

#WTF Moment: Leonardo DiCaprio, The Wolf of Wall Street
Yeah, definitely agree with this one. When I saw this scene in theaters I was literally like, “WTF?!”

Best Musical Moment: Backstreet Boys, Jay Baruchel, Seth Rogen & Craig Robinson, This Is the End
Boy band.

Best Hero: Henry Cavill, as Clark Kent, Man of Steel
I wanted Channing D’:

Best Scared-As-S**t Performance: Brad Pitt, World War Z
Haven’t seen it *insert monkey covering its eyes emoji*

Best Cameo: Rihanna, This Is the End
Go RiRi!!

MTV Generation Award: Mark Wahlberg
His acceptance speech was like, woah man. F bomb here, F bomb there. Incredible work, honestly, but chill a little.

MTV Trailblazer Award: Channing Tatum
I think every person, male and female, appreciated the video of clips from movies he has been in. Remember his Step up and She’s the Man days? Sighhhh.

Okay, now on to the production.

The stage was amazing! I loved how the two letters (I think R and D) in ‘awards’ opened like doors for the presenters to walk out of.

Rihanna and Eminem’s performance was okay. It wasn’t as fun and dramatic as I was expecting.

Twentyone Pilots were introduced (haven’t heard of them prior) and I love them now! Their performance freaked some people out, but it was intense and what a performance should be!

Ellie Goulding and Zedd along with a few others performed a song from the Divergent soundtrack and it was heavenly. (I’m going to see it again today, WOOOOOOHOOOOO!!!!!)

The music played for presenters, winners and commercial breaks or returns…I was feeling it!

 

The night ended with “Turn Down For What” and I know if I was in the Nokia Theater I would have started dancing!

Now the parts I didn’t really care for… The overall MTV Movie Awards gets a solid 6 of 10 (10 being the best) from me.

Pre-show, which began 30 minutes before the show, started with technical errors that foreshadowed the rest of the night. The hosting (Conan) and script made me a little uncomfortable and felt forced at times.

That’s basically it! I attempted to write earlier, but school is getting to me mayns.

Let me know what you thought of the show!

Watch MTV,

AM x

Leave a comment